Home Page MikeDolbear.com main site
Download the entry from and rules in PDF format
Our Sponsors for 2014
Sakae Drums
Meinl Cymbals


» Click here for videos of all 2014 finalists

Congratulations to
Morgan Simpson

the 2014 Young Drummer of the Year!
Young Drummer 2014 Morgan Simpson

Morgan Simpson with Mike and the competition judges

Young Drummer Finalists

Young Drummer of the Year 2014 Finalists, Judges and Organisers

Note that entries for the 2015 competition 
will open on October 1st 2014 !



6/01/2014 - Meet the 10 finalists 1- click here!

» Click here to buy tickets for the finals event


We are proud to announce the following list of entrants that have made it through to the final 10, and who will be invited to take part in the Young Drummer of the Year finals on Sunday 2nd February 2014.

In no particular order:

1: Bradley Wool – Redhill
2: Morgan simpson – Letchworth
3: Michael Akrofi – London
4: Jonno Gaye – Hardwick
5: Tom Potter – Glasgow
6: Euan Leslie – Dumfries
7: Charlie Vasilliou – Wynyard
8: John Holbrook – Hull
9: Ishara Andrews – Reading
10: Patrick Huynh – London

Oscar Ogden (from Saddleworth) would have got into the final 10 but unfortunately has broken his arm.

Well done to those who made it through and thanks to everyone who sent in their entry.

This year’s finals will take place on Sunday February 2nd 2014 at the Spa center, Leamington Spa. Keep watching this space for more details and how to buy your tickets.


15/11/2013 - The shortlisted 40!

We're pleased to announce the shortlist for the final 40 for this year's competition. The Final 10 will be announced shortly - keep watching this space....

Michael Akrofi – London
Joseph Kwaw – London
Ishara Andrews – Reading
Edan Leslie – Dumfries
Joseph Ayensu – Enfield
Max Mealey – Liverpool
Jonathan Bradbury – Barnsley
Colin Myles – Wishaw
Richard Christie – Oswestry
Oscar Ogden – Saddleworth
Sam Duissellat – London
Rean Parchment – Birmingham
James Ellington – London
Tom Potter – Glasgow
Sam Every – St Mabyn
Jim Reed – Twickenham
George Farrar – Harrogate
Jay Roberts – Swindon
Ross Fyfe – Houston
Nathan Shingler – Rugeley
Jonno Gaye – Hardwick
Morgan Simpson – Letchworth
Raul Gibson – Bristol
Oliver Spackman – Hethersett
Rory Grindlay – West Calder
Louis Takooree – Clacton on sea
Jordan Hadfield - London
Camara Talburt – Birmingham
Sam Heeley – Sheffield
Olly Tandon – Brigg
John Holbrook – Hull
Charlie Vasilliou – Wynyard
Kyle Hughes – Tyne and Wear
Donal Walsh – Northern Ireland
Patrick Huynh – London
Tom Walters – Penarth
Kyal Kapoor – London
Joel Waters – Bromham
Jack Kennedy – Glossop
Bradley Wool – Redhill


Be the best - Young drummer of the year 2014

Again there will be a booth at this year's LONDON DRUM SHOW where you can record and submit your entry video if you wish. See here for futher information on how to enter.

The final for the shortlisted 10 will be in Leamington spa on Sunday 2nd February 2014

We are pleased to announce that cymbal sponsor for this year's Young Drummer of the Year competition will be Sakae Drums and Meinl cymbals.


© mikedolbear.com 2003-2013